The player of the day Tharindu Kaushal appeals successfully for a wicket on the first day of the second Test against Pakistan at the P Sara Oval. | AFP picture by Lakruwan Wanniarachchi.

By Sa’adi Thawfeeq
Sri Lanka have began well their quest to level the three-match Test series against Pakistan by dismissing the visitors for 138 and then replying with 70 for one wicket by the close of the first day of the second Test at the P Sara Oval.

Pakistan’s batting was destroyed by 22-year-old off-spinner Tharindu Kaushal who finished with figures of five for 42 in an unchanged spell of 10.2 overs playing in only his second Test.

Kaushal came in for the injured Dilruwan Perera who had to miss out with a hand injury that required nine stitches.

Pakistan chose to bat first on a wicket affording bounce and seam movement for the fast bowlers which Dhammika Prasad exploited to the full to capture three of the top four Pakistan wickets that paved the way for Kaushal to come and run through the rest of the batting.

Dushmantha Chameera making his Test debut took his maiden wicket when he dismissed Zulfiqar Babar towards the tailend of the Pakistan innings. He bowled impressively touching speeds upto 150kph to unsettle the batsmen.

Such was the dominance of Kaushal that skipper Angelo Mathews didn’t even bother to bring on his key spinner Rangana Herath.

Sri Lanka began their pursuit of the Pakistan total with an opening stand of 47 between Dimuth Karunatilleke and Kaushal Silva.

Karunaratne presented Pakistan with their first wicket when he flashed at a ball swinging away from him to edge the ball to wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed with his score on 28.

Kumar Sangakkara didn’t look comfortable at all in the 36 balls he faced before the close to remain unbeaten on 18 along with the dogged Silva who was 22 not out with Sri Lanka trailing by 68 runs.

Pakistan leads the three-match series 1-0 following their ten-wicket win at Galle.



Mohammad Hafeez b Kaushal 42

Ahmed Shehzad c Sangakkara b Prasad 1

Azahar Ali c Chandimal b Prasad 26

Younis Khan c Chandimal b Prasad 6

Misbah-ul-Haq run out 7

Asad Shafiq lbw b Kaushal 2

Sarfraz Ahmed c Mathews b Kaushal 14

Wabab Riaz lbw b Kaushal 4

Yasir Shah c Sangakkara b Kaushal 5

Zulfiqar Babar b Chameera 5

Junaid Khan not out 2

Extras (lb-4, nb-7, w-3) 14

Total ( all out, 42.5 overs) 138

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Shehzad), 2-51 (Azhar), 3-74 (Younis), 4-89 (Hafeez), 5-95 (Shafiq), 6-96 (Misbah), 7-113 (Sarfraz), 8-117 (Riaz), 9-124 (Babar), 10-138 (Yasir).

Bowling: Prasad 13-2-43-3 (w3) Mathews 9-4-16-0, Chameera 10-0-33-1 (nb5), Kaushal 10.5-0-42-5 (nb2).


D Karunaratne c Sarfraz b Junaid 28

K Silva not out 21

K Sangakkara not out 18

Extras (b-2, nb-1) 3

Total (one wicket at close, 32 overs) 70

Fall of wicket: 1-47 (Karunaratne).

To bat: L Thirimanne, A Mathews, D Chandimal, K Vithanage, D Prasad, R Herath, T Kaushal, D Chameera.

Bowling: Riaz 9-2-19-0 (nb1), Junaid 10-3-26-1, Babar 7-4-9-0, Yasir 6-0-14-0,

AFP picture by Lakruwan Wanniarachchi

parkisthan (8) parkisthan (7) parkisthan (6) parkisthan (5) parkisthan (4) parkisthan (3)

6 5 4 3  1