Sri Lanka Rugby Union president Asanga Seneviratne has finally been bundled into touch and will no longer be at the helm after the influential Western Province Rugby Football Union (WPRFU) decided to nominate Michael Jayasekera as the candidate for the top post at an election of office bearers to be held this month.

Rugby in Sri Lanka went through troubled times during the tenure of Seneviratne who was also caught up in several conflicting interests that made him a failed administrator in the eyes of many unable to pursue his envisaged goals one of which was structure for Youth rugby.

Last month at a Sri Lanka team felicitation he warned that the country was left in the lurch without a much needed scientific training project for players and appealed for government intervention.

He had pleaded for a third two-year term which was not possible under new government regulations.

Seneviratne’s successor Michael Jayasekera, a former Sri Lanka and Havelocks centre, team manager and head selector, will have his plate full when he takes the reins end of this month uncontested.

Ex players Nazim Mohamed, Hafeel Marso and Ravi Wijenathan have been nominated as vice president, secretary and treasurer respectively by the WPRFU.

The new Committee will comprise Chula Dharmadasa, Roshan Deen, Brig Tennekoon, Lasantha Wijesuriya, Shamrath Fernando and Fazal Mohamed.