Sri Lanka opener Kaushal Silva kept the Pakistani bowlers at bay with a resolute knock of 80 not out on the second day of the first Test at the Galle International Stadium. (AFP pic by Ishara S Kodikara)

Sa’adi Thawfeeq reporting from Galle

GALLE: Pakistan grabbed the prize wicket of Kumar Sangakkara and of vice-captain Lahiru Thirimanne in the final session but they could not pierce the solid defence of opener Kaushal Silva who batted throughout the rain truncated second day to remain unbeaten on 80.

Sri Lanka invited to bat first ended the day at 178 for three wickets with skipper Angelo Mathews on 10 and Silva having hit 12 fours in his 197-ball stay.

Sangakkara who had completed his 52nd fifty of his illustrious career off 106 balls (one six, 2 fours) was dismissed without any addition to his score when Wahab Riaz having beaten him in the previous delivery found the edge of his bat off the next, the resulting catch ending in the safe hands of Younis Khan at first slip.

Thirimanne (8) did not last long. He got off the mark with a confident on drive for four off the first ball he faced, but in attempting to hit Mohammad Hafeez over the infield only succeeded in giving Zulfiqar Babar a simple catch at mid-on.

Riaz looked the most penetrative of the Pakistani bowlers and was rewarded with two wickets.

Although Pakistan picked up three wickets they would have justified their captain Misbah-ul-Haq’s decision to field first had they grabbed at the chances that came their way.



D Karunaratne c Sarfraz b Riaz 21

K Silva not out 80

K Sangakkara c Younis b Riaz 50

L Thirimanne c Babar b Hafeez 8

A Mathews not out 10

Extras (lb-4, nb-4, w-1) 9

Total (three wickets at close, 64 overs) 178

Fall of wickets: 1-30 (Karunaratne), 2-142 (Sangakkara), 3-154 (Thirimanne).

To bat: K Vithanage, D Chandimal, D Perera, D Prasad, R Herath, N Pradeep.

Bowling: Junaid 12-4-24-0, Riaz 15-2-51-2 (nb4, w1), Babar 15-4-32-0, Yasir 15-2-43-0, Hafeez 7-0-24-1.

Pakistan: Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Younis Khan, Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Asad Shafiq, Sarfraz Ahmed, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar.

Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-2 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-3 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-4 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-5 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-6 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-7 Defiant-Silva-helps-Sri-Lanka-8

(AFP pic by Ishara S Kodikara)