Cabinet of Ministers last night approved the proposal put forward by the Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe to change the present electoral system.  The presented version is due to table in the Parliament as the 20th Amendment to the Constitution.

Prime Minister stressed the importance of not increasing the number of seats in Parliament as it would be an additional burden on the public accordingly, the number of seats in Parliament will remain at 225 in which 125 MPs elected under the first-past-the-post system, 75 MPs under the Proportional Representation (PR) system and 25 MPs under the national list. The 75 MPs elected under the PR system will represent districts.

President Maithripala Sirisena assured that no injustice would be done to minor parties when conducting delimitation and that the government would ensure a fair minority representation. It was also stated that the new draft could be prepared within four days and it would be immediately presented to the Cabinet again.

Cabinet of Ministers instructed the Elections Commissioner and the Legal Draftsman, who were also present at the Cabinet meeting yesterday, to formulate the new legislation and submit it to President Maithripala Sirisena by Friday; June 12. However, President Maithripala Sirisena had assured that the forthcoming Parliamentary election will be held under the present electoral system, though they finalized a new one.