After a highly competitive three days, eight campus cricket teams have qualified for the National quarter-finals of the Sri Lankan edition of Red Bull Campus Cricket 2015.

The preliminary rounds held between May 7 and 9 at Thurstan College grounds featured a number of exciting matches as the next-generation of Sri Lankan cricketers put on a show of extraordinary talent in the country’s most popular sport.

The first day saw ACBT beat CINEC with a comfortable margin of 57 runs along with IIHE beating APIIT by a mere 13 runs.

Although rain delayed the second day, KDU emerged victorious over Auston by 19 runs while SLIIT edged VHE with a narrow win of only 2 runs. The third and final day of the preliminary rounds saw a clinical all-round performance by BMS, who beat IIT by 6 wickets while ANC were the last team through to the quarter-finals with a 3-wicket win over NSBM. Defending champions and runners-up ICBT and RIC were given byes, enabling automatic qualification to the quarter-finals.

These eight teams will now play each other in the National quarter-finals scheduled to take place on September 5 and 6. Each team will battle for a spot in the semi-finals and thereafter, the National finals which will determine the team who will represent Sri Lanka at the 2015 Red Bull Campus Cricket World Finals in India in October.