ICC Umpire Kumar Dharmasena receives his token from chief guest Minister Ravi Karunanayake

Bloomfield Cricket and Athletic Club, one of the leading cricket-playing clubs in Sri Lanka with a rich history held a felicitation dinner for Roshan Mahanama, Kumar Dharmasena and Ruchira Palliyaguru — three former cricketers turned top ICC match officials. The felicitation dinner coincided with the Golden Anniversary Celebration of Bloomfield becoming Sara Trophy Champions in 1963/64.

Over 250 distinguished invitees graced the event, in which besides Mahanama, Dharmasena and Palliayguru the members of the Sara Trophy winning team members of 1963/1964 also were felicitated with mementos. To date 47 cricketers from the club at Reid Avenue have represented Sri Lanka at Test and ODI level while five of them went on to become captains. However Mahanama, one of the two ICC Match Referees from Sri Lanka beside Ranjan Madugalle, could not attend the event as he was on an official overseas assignment.

Parliamentarian Ravi Karunanayake was the chief guest of the event while guests of honour were Parliamentarian John Amaratuna and Ranjith Fernando, the Chairman of UDA. The event was organised under the patronage of Jayantha Seneviratne, the incumbent President of Bloomfield and an organising committee headed by Ashroff Ghany. The committee included Jayantha Seneviratne, Hirantha Perera, Rohan de Alwis, Asanga Wickremasinghe, Rohith Nagarajah, Sumith Fonseka, Jayantha Narangoda, Orville Pereira and Yusuf Khan.