A motor cyclist at the race

Ashan Silva (motor cars), and Pramuka Sesath Silva, (motor cycles), took major honours at the First Tarmac Motor Racing Championship 2015 on Sunday at the Rotherham Circuit, Katukurunda. Ashan was in great form winning both races SL-GT up to 3500cc class beating other leading drivers in this class such as Darin Weerasinghe and Abeeth Dangalle.
Ashan was in full command from the word go to be in the front while the drivers were chasing him from behind. Ashan showed all his talents when going through corners far ahead of the others. In race number two once again he came up with class drive to maintain his supremacy and also to collect the maximum points for the championship.

This race saw Dilan Seneviratne, another veteran, come ahead of Abeeth Dangalle to take the second runner-up position. Ashan was behind the wheel of a Mitsubishi Evolution.
Pramuka Sesath Silva managed to out ride all opposition in the Motor Cycles Open event which is considered for the Championship. He too was in good form and went on to win both events and collected 20 points to take a firm lead for the Championship in this class. Race one was a ding dong battle with Last year’s champion Maduranga Caldera. Caldera ended up as the runner-up, while in race two Caldera could not match the challenged posed by Sriyantha Anuradha and Reza Odayar.

Shehara Jayawardene the only woman driver competing against her opposite numbers performed well to win the SL-N Cars up to 1350cc class. He was challenged by experienced drivers in the calibre of S.A. Duminda and Imran Yakoob. Shehara was off to flying start and to be in front throughout the race with the two drivers Duminda and Yakoob following her.

Ashan Silva after the race
Ashan Silva after the race

Shehara also did a good drive in the SL-A cars up to 1600cc when she fought against top drivers in this class Sajaad Zuhair and Irfan Fuard. After a late start she was able to catch up the lost time and ended up as the runner-up to Sajaad Zuhair while Irfan Fuard finished as the second runner-up.

In the Group M up to 600cc Class Shoel Daniel came up with a fine display of riding skills to over ride Sriyantha Anuradha and Maduranga Caldera. Shoel Daniel is the brother of veteran rider in this class Shiran Daniel who skipped this event making room for Shoel to enter the field of racing. Shoel became a star in his first appearance showing that he is going to be a top rider in the near future.

The Group ‘F’ Formula McLarens EFI 1300cc class race also saw young Bryan Perera come up as the winner. Bryan had stiff opposition from Chaminda Guneratne and Clement Senaratne who entered the Formula Class through McLarens racing at Pannala.
The other event for the Formula MacLarens 1300cc category was won by A.M.L.M. Weerasinghe with Sumal Marco Warnakulasuriya and Ramesh Xaviour Perera taking runners-up positions.

In the 1300cc Ford Laser/ Mazda class Susantha Gunewardene was winner while the two runners-up were Romesh Gunewardene and Chandima Rajasinghe.

Young Kushan Peiris who has dominated on gravel tracks last year, failed to live up to expectations in this class going behind Sajaad Zuhair and Shenal Gunewardene.

Aaron Gunewardene the youngest rider on this day got the better of all leading riders to win the Group ‘O’ standard motor cycle event. He too was a late starter bur his skills saw him go past one by one to finish as the winner in this race.

The other riders who managed to record wins at Katukurunda were Udana Perera and S.G. Chaminda in the standard motor cycles up to 125cc class.

Kasun Danushka Sudasinghe and Suraj Perera were the winners of Super Motor Bikes up to 250cc and 450cc and over class events respectively.

The young drivers to excel were Romesh Gunewardene and Shenal Gunewardene in the 1300cc and 1500cc Class. Meanwhile one the veterans in the SL-A Class up to 1050 W.A.G. Rangana finished first while in the SL-H cars Subaru Legacy up to 2200cc saw Mallika Kuruvitaarachchi overcome few senior drivers go away with a win here.

The meet was conducted by Sri Lanka Association for Racing Drivers and Riders (SLARDAR) along with Asian Motor Racing Club (AMRC) on a grand scale commended by all participants.

There was only one accident reported when rider Nishantha Ranatunga went off the track injuring two spectators.