Penetrative left arm leg spin bowling by Amila Aponsu who claimed six wickets for one run including a hat-trick gave EWIS their first MCA title when they beat Union Assurance PLC by a comprehensive 132 runs in the final of the 13th David Pieris Group of Companies sponsored, DPGC Challenge Trophy, MCA “E” Division 30 Over League Tournament concluded at the MCA grounds, last Saturday.

Union Assurance were 62 for three when Aponsu was brought into the attack and he immediately performed a hat-trick. He bagged the wickets of Faizal Aron, skipper Sumudu Wijesinghe and Eric Upashantha for the hat-trick.

In his next over Aponsu claimed the wickets of Mahesh de Alwis, Aruna Meemanage and Kasun Liyanage to sink UAL.

Earlier, electing to bat first EWIS put up a challenging total of 202 for nine in 30 overs. Half centuries by Tissa Bandara and Charith Fernando put them to the fore.

UAL skipper Sumudu Liyanage was the pick of the bowlers with figures of 3 for 35.

Amila Aponsu of EWIS was adjudged as the man of the match.
Three other special awards were awarded to Amal Atapattu (Unilever) best bowler, Himal Fonseka of Eagle Logistics as the best batsman and Heshan Wanniarachchi of EWIS as the man of the tournament.

The MCA hosted the cricketers from Blind School, Ratmalana to lunch. They played an exhibition cricket match during the lunch interval. The MCA presented them with Memento Plaque, Medallions and a cash donation which were given away by Sri Lanka coach, Marven Atapattu.

EWIS: 202 for 9 in 30 overs (Tissa Bandara 57 n.o. Charith Fernando 51, Janith Liyanage 32, Sumudu Wijesinghe 3/35, Eric Upashantha 2/20)
Union Assurance PLC: 70 in 14 overs (Nalin Wijesinghe 15, Faizal Aron 13, Dulip Silva 11, Sumudu Wijesinghe 10, Amila Aponsu 6/1, Charith Fernando 3/21) (LW)