Saeed Ajmal

Off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, who featured in the two-Test series against Bangaldesh, has been left out of the 15-man Test squad named for the series in Sri Lanka this month.

Babar Azam, Bilawal Bhatti, Sami Aslam were also excluded while Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood and Ehsan Adil have been included.

“While selecting the squad, the selection committee considered the following key areas: Suitability to play in varied playing conditions; potential to perform at international level; current form and fitness and performance in the previous tours of Bangladesh and recently concluded Pakistan ‘A’ team’s tour of Sri Lanka; feedback from the team management on the performance of players on Bangladesh tour, PCB chief selector Haroon Rashid said.

“Fawad Alam, Sami Aslam and some other players were also under consideration but could not be included but they remain on the selectors radar. Rahat Ali, Sohail Khan and Sohaib Maqsood are still on the rehab after sustaining injuries and it is hoped that they would be available for selection in the near future.

“Selection committee has also kept its options open in case of need for the 16th member keeping in mind the extreme weather conditions in Sri Lanka,” Rashid added.

Pakistan Test squad: Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Shan Masood, Azhar Ali (vice-captain), Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Younis Khan Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Yasir Shah, Zulfiqar Babar, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Imran Khan, Ehsan Adil.