Five Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) parliamentarians took oaths before President Maithripala Sirisena at the presidential secretariat yesterday (Friday) to fill the voids left by four SLFP parliamentarians who resigned from their ministerial portfolios last week.

Matara District MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena was appointed as the new Cabinet Minister Parliamentary Affairs while MP Pandu Bandaranayake took oaths as the State Minister of Public Administration and Democratic Governance.

Former Deputy Minister of Finance Ranjith Siyambalapitiya took oaths as the State Minister of Environment.

MP Hemal Gunasekara took oaths as the State Minister of Samurdhi and Housing while Chandrasiri Sooriyaarachchi, who is representing the Polonnaruwa District, was appointed as the Deputy Minister of Lands.  MPs Dilan Perera, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene and CB Rathnayake are the ones who vacated their ministerial posts last week.