Ministry of Housing and Samurdhi announces that Rs.1583 million has been received for the road development projects of the Hambantota district and 51 identified roads in four electorates; Thissamaharama, Mulkirigala, Beliaththa and Tangalle will be developed using the latest technology.

Ministry sources also said that according to Minister Sajith Premadasa both the skilled and unskilled employees for the projects will be recruited from the close-by villages assuring that the benefits to remain in the village. Minister Premadasa has also advised the villagers to have community committees to supervise the project representing the civil society. Those community based committees will be asked to meet monthly and monitor the proceedings, a Ministry official told The Nation.