Hotel Topaz, Kandy making a comeback after a two-year lapse, lifted the Men’s Open and the Women’s titles at the 20th Travel Trade Sports Club Badminton Team Championships 2015, sponsored by Serendib Leisure Hotels for the fifth time and concluded at S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia Indoor Stadium last weekend.

Hotel Topaz ended the 12 year reign of SriLankan Airlines, when they beat them in the top half semi-finals, and then went on to beat debutants, Citrus Waskaduwa in the final of the men’s Open.
Defending champions, SriLankan Airlines experienced a similar fate in the women’s tournament when they lost the top half semi-final to Hotel Topaz and once clearing that hurdle they went on to win the title, beating Serendib Leisure in the final.

In a repeat final of last year, SriLankan Airlines retained the men’s over-40 title, beating The Kingsbury Hotel.

It was the experience of Rohan de Silva (62 years), Anura Basnayake (56 years) and ADW Yatawara (39 years) and the youth of Udara Nayanajith (25 years) that took Hotel Topaz (a McLarens Group Hotel) to the top; while the 20-year-old rising star, Achini Ratnasiri, that single-handedly helped the hoteliers to win the womens Tournament.

Fourteen teams played in the men’s Open Team Championship.
Quarter-finals: SriLankan Airlines beat Walkers/Whittalls 3/1; Hotel Topaz beat Kingsbury 3/0; Jetwing Blue beat Green Holidays 3/2; Citrus Waskaduwa beat Serendib Leisure (2014 runners-up) 3/1.

Semi-finals: Hotel Topaz beat SriLankan Airlines 3/1; Citrus Waskaduwa beat Jetwing Blue 3/1.

Final: Hotel Topaz beat Citrus Waskaduwa 3/0; Udara Nayanajith (Topaz) beat Prashan de Silva (Citrus) 21/10, 21/9; Rohan de Silva (Topaz) beat Nuwan Silva (Citrus) 19/21, 21/14, 21/17; A.D.W. Yatawara (Topaz) beat Rajith Thilaka (Citrus) 21/17, 21/10.

Most Outstanding Player: Udara Nayanajith of Hotel Topaz.
Six teams played in the Women’s Team Championship.
Semi-Finals: Hotel Topaz beat SriLankan Airlines 2/1; Serendib Leisure beat Walkers /Whittalls “A” 2/0

Final: Hotel Topaz beat Serendib Leisure 2/1; Achini Ratnasiri (Topaz) beat Mithilani Mendis (Serendib) 21/3, 21/3; Chithra Fernando (Serendib) beat Rasika Ratnayake (Topaz) 21/12, 21/13; Achini Ratnasiri and Rasika Ratnayake (Topaz) beat Chithra Fernando and Mithilani Mendis (Serendib) 21/1, 21/6.
Most Outstanding Player: Achini Ratnasiri of Hotel Topaz.

Six teams played in the men’s over-40 Team Championship.
Semi-finals: SriLankan Airlines beat Serendib Leisure 2/0; Kingsbury Hotel beat Hotel Topaz 2/0.

Final: SriLankan Airlines beat Kingsbury Hotel 2/0; Dayantha Fernando (SL) beat Basil Ranmuka (Kingbury) 21/16, 21/14; Sajith Wijetunga (SL) beat Nimal Alahakoon (Kingsbury) 21/12, 21/6.
Most Outstan

ding Player: Dayantha Fernando of SriLankan Airlines
Awards were presented by Suranjith de Fonseka, Director Sales & Marketing, Serendib Leisure Hotels and Denesh Silva, VP/TTSC, President /TTSC, Prabath Harshakumar Senior VP/TTSC, and Palitha Mendis Gen. Secretary/TTSC. – (LW)